• Nola's chairman Arnold B. Baker (left)


Artikel Nummer: 25801

Port of New Orleans - new commissioners take charge

The board of commissioners of the port of New Orleans selected a new executive committee in late December 2018. Arnold B. Baker was elected chairman, Tara C. Hernandez as vice-chair and Darryl D. Berger as secretary-treasurer.


Baker joined the US port's board in April 2015. He succeeded Laney J. Chouest whose term as the chairman expired in December. Chouest will continue to serve as a commissioner until his five-year term ends in June 2019.


Baker, a construction industry entrepreneur, served as managing member of the Centergy Development Group and as assistant to the mayor of New Orleans for policy, planning and development, amongst other functions. The port of New Orleans board consists of seven unsalaried commissioners who serve five-year staggered terms. (cd)


Related news