• James Given. Photo: Seafarers


Artikel Nummer: 28109

Three executives to receive annual Aotos award

The United Seamen’s Service (USS) 2019 Admiral of the Ocean Sea Awards (Aotos) will be presented to James Given, president of the Seafarers International Union of Canada, Anil Mathur, president and CEO of Alaska Tanker Corp., and Joseph Pyne, chairman of the board of the Kirby Corporation.


The maritime industry’s award will be presented at the annual Aotos gala in New York City (USA), on 1 November 2019.


Lieutenant general Kenneth Wykle, Aotos committee chairman, said: “Given, a maritime labour leader in neighbouring Canada, has worked in a spirit of cooperation with American seafarer unions on mutual issues. Mathur heads an American shipping company dedicated to carrying crude oil from Alaska to its various markets. Finally, Pyne chairs Kirby Corporation, a tank barge operator in the United States.” (mw)




Related news